Baker makes NEAFL return

Defender Jack Baker will play his first NEAFL game in twelve-months when Canberra takes on Southport at the Fankhauser Reserve tomorrow afternoon.

Jack Baker sweats it out during pre-season training. Photo: Jacob Gaynor/NEAFL.

The 23-year-old, who played 24 NEAFL games for Canberra from 2016 to 2017, signed a new contract early last month.

The former Belconnen defender was an integral part of the Canberra Demons squad before rupturing his ACL against the Sydney Swans in Round 7 last season.

After taking time off following a knee reconstruction late last year, Baker had been maintaining his fitness with the Club ahead of returning to football with Coolamon in the RFL (Riverina Football League) with former Demon Nick Pleming.

Having played the last month with the Gungahlin Jets in the AFL Canberra competition Baker joins ruckman Cameron Milne as this week’s inclusions, with Luke McKay and Ben Halse omitted.

NEAFL Round 18

Saturday, August 4, 2018

Southport Sharks (3rd) v Canberra Demons (1st) at Fankhauser Reserve, 12pm

*This match will be streamed live on NEAFL TV ( *Live Champion Data statistics available on the Official NEAFL App


B: 45. Ethan Reeves 14. Brodie Murdoch 15. Jordan Taylor HB: 37. Daniel Charlesworth* 12. Rhys Clark 8. Seb Tape C: 34. Tyler Roos 5. Andrew Boston 32. Tom Wilkinson HF: 4. Michael Manteit 19. Josh Baxter 33. Matt Doran F: 7. Ryan Davis 17. Mitch Johnson 21. Wade Hancock Foll: 46. Josh Hall 10. Josh Clayton 11. Noa Corbett

Inter: 16. Lee Dale 27. Jack O’Shea 6. Dylan Fyfe 20. Tom Howard 24. Dylan Mutu

Emer: 43. Jaicob Kenny 13. Tom Ellard 41. Kai Sheers

In: 17. Mitch Johnson 11. Noa Corbett 20. Tom Howard 33. Matt Doran Out: 28. Rob Clements (suspended) 38. Charlie Ford (injured) 42. Shawn Watson (omitted) 23. Jed Turner (unavailable)

*Denotes 23rd player


B: 35. Tom Highmore 2. Alex Paech 18. Angus Baker HB: 25. Sam Martyn 15. Jack Baker 6. Kade Klemke C: 45. Harrison Carr* 24. Alex Smout 9. Jack Powell HF: 4. Aaron Bruce 11. Jacob Turner 16. Mitch Hardie F: 17. Jarrod Osborne 13. Tom Faul 23. Ben Fulford Foll: 42. Cameron Milne 8. Mitch Maguire 1. Isaac Taylor

Inter: 19. Nathan Richards 21. Matt Vardanega 7. Connor Owen-Auburn 5. Nick Collins 26. Sam Tonkes

Emer: 29. Ben Halse 12. Luke McKay 34. Luke Robertson

In: 42. Cameron Milne 15. Jack Baker Out: 29. Ben Halse (omitted) 12. Luke McKay (omitted)

*Denotes 23rd player

  • White Facebook Icon
  • White Instagram Icon
  • White Twitter Icon
  • White YouTube Icon
  • White Facebook Icon
  • White Instagram Icon
  • White Twitter Icon
  • White YouTube Icon

Home Ground

Phillip Oval

12 Spoering St, Phillip ACT 2606


3 Oxley St, Griffith ACT 2603

P: (02) 62280999

F: (02) 62280900


kane logo.png
allinsure white logo.png


© 2018 by Canberra Demons