Grant named for Canberra debut | NEAFL

Harry Grant has been named to make his Canberra debut against the Sydney Swans at Manuka Oval on Saturday at 12.00pm.

Grant is one of four changes to this week’s team with Luke Jamieson also named in Canberra’s final 23.

GWS Academy product Harry Grant will make his Canberra debut this weekend.

The 17-year-old has been selected after consistent performances during seven games as part of the GWS NEAFL side this season, averaging 20 disposals and impressing through his work ethic, particularly around the contest.

The Queanbeyan Tigers product represented the GIANTS in the recent NAB League, and put the disappointment of missing out on Allies selection behind him to string together consistent performances at NEAFL level.

Grant made his NEAFL debut for the GIANTS last year, and will play only his eighth match at NEAFL level on Saturday afternoon.

Grant replaces Connor Owen-Auburn who has been managed, while Riley Corbett and Nick Eynaud have been omitted.

Defender Ben Halse has also been named to return, replacing Josh Maynard (Injured).

Canberra Demons (7th) v Sydney Swans (3rd) at UNSW Canberra Oval, 12pm

B: 37. R Budd, 12. J Spina, 35. T Highmore HB: 18. A Baker, 2. A Paech, 25. S Martyn C: 20. J Harper, 6. A Smout, 36. L Meline HF: 4. A Bruce, 24. H Carr, 16. M Hardie F: 27. R Pollock, 13. T Faul, 9. J Powell Foll: 22. L Jamieson, 8. M Maguire, 15. K Evans

Int: 40. H Grant, 29. B Halse, 17. J Osborne, 21. M Vardanega, 23. G Richardson*

Emg: 11. R Corbett, 26. N Eynaud, 34. L Lupton

In: L Jamieson, B Halse, M Vardanega, H Grant

Out: J Maynard (Injured), R Corbett, N Eynaud, (Both omitted) and C Owen-Auburn (Managed)

New: H Grant

*Denotes 23rd player


B: 51. R Barkley, 54. C Flanagan, 49. C Hirst HB: 27. J McInerney, 41. H Mclean, 33. R Stoddart C: 32. J Bell, 8. J Rowbottom, 6. J Thurlow HF: 16. Z Foot, 30. T McCartin, 45. S Wicks F: 46. J Amartey, 60. M Knoll, 15. K Jack Foll: 17. D Cameron, 42. R Fox, 25. B Ronke

Int: 55. J Barling, 56. M Geddes, 53. K McKellar, 57. J Rayner

Emg: 50. C Kilpatrick, 48. K McGrath

In: J. Barling, R Fox, K Jack, T McCartin, J Rayner, R Stoddart, J Thurlow

Out:  T. Pink (suspended), S Eynaud, A Watling, K Martin, S Gaden, C Kilpatrick, K McGrath, N Brewer (all omitted)

  • White Facebook Icon
  • White Instagram Icon
  • White Twitter Icon
  • White YouTube Icon
  • White Facebook Icon
  • White Instagram Icon
  • White Twitter Icon
  • White YouTube Icon

Home Ground

Phillip Oval

12 Spoering St, Phillip ACT 2606


3 Oxley St, Griffith ACT 2603

P: (02) 62280999

F: (02) 62280900


kane logo.png
allinsure white logo.png


© 2018 by Canberra Demons