Maguire named Canberra's best

Updated: Nov 11, 2018

Midfielder Mitch Maguire has been crowned the Canberra Demons 2018 Best & Fairest.

Mitch Maguire has been crowned Canberra's Best & Fairest for 2018. Photo: TJ Yelds/NEAFL

Amongst a host of other awards on the night, Maguire was presented with the highest individual honour at the club’s annual awards night.

The 2018 NEAFL Rising Star was named Canberra’s best after a breakout season that saw him finish fourth in the league's most valuable player voting.

Senior Coach Kade Klemke said the best-and-fairest was testament to Maguire’s consistency and on-field leadership in 2018.

“Mitch really led the way this season. While we were inconsistent as a team early, Mitch continued to deliver week-in, week-out. It’s testament to the type of player and leader he is,” Klemke said.

“Mitch sets a great example for our young group and is incredibly important for what we’re trying to build here.”

The 20-year-old Riverina product averaged 27 disposals and five clearances per game in 2018 and played an integral role in Canberra securing a maiden finals campaign.

In Canberra’s historic Elimination Final win over Sydney University, Maguire collected 45 disposals and registered 10 tackles guiding Canberra to a Preliminary Final berth where he again starred, collecting 27 disposals and a goal as a defiant Canberra side exited the NEAFL competition.

Following his dominant finals campaign Maguire was also named Canberra’s Player of the Finals, becoming the first ever player to receive the award.

Klemke also paid tribute to second and third place getters Mitch Hardie and Isaac Taylor.

“Mitch Hardie backed up his 2017 season with another really consistent year,” Klemke said.

“He’s become an influential leader among our group and that will only grow.

“Isaac really made a statement with his second half of the year. He took on some of the game’s best and flourished in his inside midfield role.”

A terrific season Maguire was also named in the NEAFL team of the year, alongside half-forward Mitch Hardie.

Major Award Winners 2018:

Best and Fairest – Mitch Maguire Runner-up – Mitch Hardie Third place Isaac Taylor

Leading Goalkicker Award – Ben Fulford Rising Star Award – Angus Baker Players’ Player Award – Tom Highmore Most Consistent Award – Alex Smout Coaches Award – Aaron Bruce

Former winners: 2016 – Jordan Harper 2017 – Jordan Harper

2018 – Mitch Maguire

  • White Facebook Icon
  • White Instagram Icon
  • White Twitter Icon
  • White YouTube Icon
  • White Facebook Icon
  • White Instagram Icon
  • White Twitter Icon
  • White YouTube Icon

Home Ground

Phillip Oval

12 Spoering St, Phillip ACT 2606


3 Oxley St, Griffith ACT 2603

P: (02) 62280999

F: (02) 62280900


kane logo.png
allinsure white logo.png


© 2018 by Canberra Demons