Team Selection: Canberra name four debutants for NEAFL opener

Canberra will unveil four debutants in Saturday afternoon’s blockbuster season opener against the Gold Coast SUNS.

From left to right: Adam Kinasch, Josh Maynard, Jono Spina and Kel Evans will all debut for Canberra on Saturday afternoon.

Jonathan Spina, Adam Kinasch and Kel Evans will make their NEAFL debuts, while Josh Maynard will play his first game for his new club against the SUNS.

Maynard, 196cm and 113kg, was recruited from Ainslie during the off-season having developed in the AFL Canberra competition last year.

The round one clash will mark Maynard’s return to the NEAFL competition having played a single game for Ainslie in 2015.

Evans, 19, also comes into the line-up on the back of impressive form displayed throughout the pre-season.

The former Queanbeyan Tigers midfielder was crowned the Mulrooney Medallist as AFL Canberra's best and fairest player at the league's awards night in September of last season and will add a new dimension to the Demons' midfield.

Spina, 24, was recruited by Canberra from Lavington during the off-season, the round one clash will mark Spina’s NEAFL debut, earning his stripes after a standout pre-season campaign.

The defender turned heads in the Demons’ recent pre-season defeat to the Sydney Swans.

Kinasch, 19, is also locked in, recovering from an ACL injury in perfect time for a round one start.

Head coach Kade Klemke this morning confirmed the young forward was ready to go.

“Adam will play his first game for us, which is very exciting,” Klemke said.

"Our football department did a great job getting a quality person and quality player to our club, and he'll get his first opportunity to play his role on Saturday." 

Vice-captain Tom Highmore will celebrate an individual milestone in the match, with the former GWS Giants product to make his 50th NEAFL appearance.

Canberra’s three emergencies for the clash against the Gold Coast are Billy Clark, Luke Jamieson and Alex Smout.

Canberra’s Round 1 Team:

B: 37. R Budd 2. A Paech 29. B Halse HB: 18. A Baker 12. J Spina 10. K Klemke C: 17. J Osborne 15. K Evans 14. D Roberts HF: 16. M Hardie 28. A Kinasch 9. J Powell F: 4. A Bruce 13. T Faul 35. T Highmore R: 19. J Maynard 36. L Meline 8. M Maguire

Int: 24. H Carr 7. C Owen-Auburn 27. R Pollock 21. M Vardanega 23. G Richardson

Emer: 32. W Clark 22. L Jamieson 6. A Smout

New: Kel Evans (Queanbeyan), Adam Kinasch (Sydney Swans Academy), Jono Spina (Lavington), Josh Maynard (Ainslie)

Milestones: Tom Highmore - 50 NEAFL games

Gold Coast:

B: 58. D Koenen 46. C Graham 54. E Semaan HB: 59. K Boakye 34. B King 43. J McLennan C: 40. J Heron 63. J Mohr 42. C Nutting HF: 53. C Beaman 60. J Brumley 49. J Hinds F: 21. J Leslie 32. B Crossley 55. L McDonald R: 22. T Nicholls 35. M Rischitelli 45. J Dawson

Inter (from): 7. W Brodie 12. S Day 39. N Holman 38. J Joyce 44. D MacPherson 2. A Miles 18. B Scheer 15. A Young

Emer: 50. M Bell 61. E Hunt 57. J Mentha

New: 54. E Semaan 34. B King 43. J McLennan 49. J Hinds 39. N Holman 2. A Miles 15. A Young.

  • White Facebook Icon
  • White Instagram Icon
  • White Twitter Icon
  • White YouTube Icon
  • White Facebook Icon
  • White Instagram Icon
  • White Twitter Icon
  • White YouTube Icon

Home Ground

Phillip Oval

12 Spoering St, Phillip ACT 2606


3 Oxley St, Griffith ACT 2603

P: (02) 62280999

F: (02) 62280900


kane logo.png
allinsure white logo.png


© 2018 by Canberra Demons