Three Re-Sign as Canberra Announce List Changes

The Canberra Demons have re-signed a further three players for the 2019 NEAFL season, while farewelling Luke Robertson, Sam Tonkes, Luke McKay, Nathan Oakes, Ben Fulford, Sam Askew, Nathan Richards, Billy Muir, Cameron Milne, Sam Burge and Rohan McLachlan.

Captain Aaron Bruce has recommitted for the 2019 NEAFL season.

Captain Aaron Bruce and Vice-Captain Andrew Swan join Tom Faul in re-signing with the club for next season.

One of the most decorated players in the NEAFL, Captain Aaron Bruce is set to play his 14th season of senior football after signing a one-year contract extension.

Canberra’s all-time leading goal-kicker and longest serving captain, Bruce joined the club as a foundation player in 2016 having spent time on the Sydney Swans list before returning to Eastlake in the AFL Canberra and NEAFL competition, registering his 200th senior appearance for Eastlake/Canberra earlier this year.

The 28-year-old again played a crucial role in 2018, averaging 15 possessions and over a goal a game, to help guide Canberra to a maiden NEAFL finals campaign.

Vice-Captain Andrew Swan played 10 games in 2018 before suffering a season-ending knee injury against the Brisbane Lions.

Vice-Captain Andrew Swan has joined Aaron Bruce in re-signing for 2019.

Having undergone surgery in early September, the 25-year-old will continue his rehabilitation program over the pre-season in hope of returning to the senior side midway through 2019.

Canberra Demons Coach Kade Klemke says it’s great to have Bruce, Swan and Faul commit for another season.

“Andrew has clearly been a highly valued member of our team for two years and it’s great to have him sign on for another season,” said Klemke.

“Aaron’s been exceptional for us again this year, he’s an outstanding leader and for him to continue for another season is a great result for all.”

“Tom demonstrated in 2018 how valuable he can be for us up forward with his speed, agility and strength and we are extremely excited in what Tom can bring to the team once again in 2019.”

Faul joins a host of young Demons to re-sign this year, including Mitch Maguire, Tom Highmore, Jarrod Osborne, Connor Owen-Auburn, Alex Paech, Donald Roberts and Riley Budd.

Canberra General Manager of Football Shaun Young has paid tribute to the departing party of 2018.

“We thank Luke, Sam, Nathan, Ben, Sam, Nathan, Billy, Cameron, Sam, Luke and Rohan for their contribution to the Canberra Demons during their time at the Club,” said Young.

“We wish them all well in their future endeavours and once again congratulate Nick Collins on an outstanding NEAFL career.”

  • White Facebook Icon
  • White Instagram Icon
  • White Twitter Icon
  • White YouTube Icon
  • White Facebook Icon
  • White Instagram Icon
  • White Twitter Icon
  • White YouTube Icon

Home Ground

Phillip Oval

12 Spoering St, Phillip ACT 2606


3 Oxley St, Griffith ACT 2603

P: (02) 62280999

F: (02) 62280900


kane logo.png
allinsure white logo.png


© 2018 by Canberra Demons